22.1 C
Thursday, May 30, 2024

Morocco to Host 2023 Kofi Annan Road Safety Award

The second Kofi Annan Road Safety Award will be hosted in Marrakech on September 25th-26th, the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA) said.

In a press release, the CEA said the event, which was held in Ghana in 2022, will take place under the aegis of the Government of Morocco, the CEA, the Secretariat of the United Nations Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for road safety, and the Kofi Annan Foundation.

Morocco is a leading country in road safety in Africa, added CEA, mentionning the implementation of the National Road Safety Strategy 2017-2026 and the establishment of the National Road Safety Agency (NARSA) in 2020, “in a pivotal milestone in promoting road safety.”

The 2023 edition of the Award aims to motivate key stakeholders to develop and implement innovative ideas and initiatives to save lives on the roads in Africa, UNECA said, adding that the prize will reward governments, private sector, civil society organizations and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to road safety in the continent.

Quoted by the statement, the Minister of Transport and Logistics, Mohammed Abdeljalil, noted that “as a country, we are committed to making our roads safer, as evidenced by the creation of NARSA”.

“It is with great pride and anticipation that the government of Morocco awaits the ceremonies of the second edition of the Kofi Annan Road Safety Award.  We look forward to recognizing the exceptional efforts of individuals and organizations working to promote road safety on the African continent,” he added.

The second edition of the Award will specifically commend governments that have implemented serious measures and actions to achieve the objectives of the second UN Decade of Action for Road Safety 2021-2030, aiming to halve road deaths by 2030.

The ceremony will be attended by dignitaries, high-level political leaders, senior road safety officials, and experts from the host country, the Kingdom of Morocco, the UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Road Safety, the Executive Secretary of the UNECA, and representatives from various organizations and agencies.

The event will also welcome the participation of road safety officials from other African countries, stakeholders, and the public either physically or online.

Nominations for the award will be accepted from June 1 to June 30, 2023, said the press release, adding that a dedicated committee will evaluate the nominations in July 2023, and finalists will be notified by July 31st, 2023.

Morocco won, in 2022 in Accra, the first edition of the Kofi Annan Prize in recognition of the efforts of the Kingdom and its African leadership in road safety.

The Kofi Annan Foundation is an independent, non-profit organization established in Switzerland in 2007 by former United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan.


- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article

%d bloggers like this: